‘Florita’ Intensifies, Signal No. 3 Raised in 22 Luzon Areas


‘Florita’ Intensifies Into Severe Tropical Storm, Signal No. 3 Raised in 22 Luzon Areas

As of 8 AM today, the Philippine Atmospheric, Geophysical and Astronomical Services Administration (Pagasa) raised typhoon ”Florita” (international name Ma-on) into a severe tropical storm. 

According to Pagasa’s Tropical Cyclone Bullet#11, the estimated location of the storm’s eye or center was found in the coastal waters of Palanan, Isabela, moving north northwestward at a speed of 20 kilometers per hour (km/h). The maximum sustained winds reached 95 km/h near the center with gustiness of up to 115 km/h.

Several areas in Luzon were placed under signal No. 3, including the southern portion of Babuyan Islands (Camiguin Is., Fuga Is., Dalupiri Is.), the northern and eastern portion of mainland Cagayan (Santa Praxedes, Claveria, Sanchez-Mira, Pamplona, Abulug, Ballesteros, Aparri, Buguey, Camalaniugan, Santa Teresita, Santa Ana, Gonzaga, Lal-Lo, Gattaran, Baggao, Peñablanca), and the eastern portion of Isabela (Maconacon, Divilacan, Palanan).

The affected locality will experience stronger winds from 121 km/h to 170 km/h for the next 18 hours.

“Lumakas na po ang bagyong Florita, from tropical storm category, ngayon po ay naging severe tropical storm category. Kasalukuyan, malaking bahagi ng ating bansa, lalo na sa Luzon at Visayas, ay nakakaranas ng maulap na kalangitan na may pag-ulan dahil sa bagyo at sa habagat, ” said Pagasa weather specialist Aldczar Aurelio in the bureau’s public weather forecast via INQUIRER.net today.

(Florita has gained strength. From tropical storm category, it has been upgraded to a severe tropical storm category. Currently, a large part of the country, especially in Luzon and Visayas, is experiencing cloudy skies with rain because of the severe tropical storm and the southwest monsoon).

Light to moderate rains with possible heavy downpours are expected to fall across Metro Manila, CALABARZON, Camarines Norte, and the rest of Central Luzon. At the same time, moderate to heavy rains will be experienced in the northern parts of Aurora, Bataan, and Tarlac, as well as the rest of the Cagayan Valley.

Here’s an updated list of the areas issued with Tropical Cyclone Wind Signals:

Signal No. 2

The rest of mainland Cagayan
The rest of Babuyan Islands
Rest of Isabela
Eastern and central portions of Nueva Vizcaya (Kayapa, Ambaguio, Solano, Villaverde, Bagabag, Diadi, Quezon, Bayombong, Bambang, Aritao, Dupax del Sur, Dupax del Norte, Kasibu, Alfonso Castaneda)
Mountain Province
The northern portion of Benguet (Bakun, Kibungan, Buguias, Kabayan, Mankayan, Bokod, Atok)
Ilocos Norte
Ilocos Sur
Northern and central portions of Aurora (Dilasag, Casiguran, Dinalungan, Dipaculao, Baler, Maria Aurora)
Northern and eastern portion of Nueva Vizcaya

Signal No. 1

The rest of Nueva Vizcaya
The rest of Benguet
La Union, Pangasinan
The eastern portion of Tarlac (San Clemente, Camiling, Moncada, San Manuel, Anao, Santa Ignacia, Gerona, Paniqui, Ramos, Pura, Victoria, La Paz, City of Tarlac, Concepcion)
Nueva Ecija
The rest of Aurora
The eastern portion of Pampanga (Magalang, Arayat, Candaba)
The eastern portion of Bulacan (San Ildefonso, San Miguel, Doña Remedios Trinidad, San Rafael, Angat, Norzagaray, City of San Jose del Monte)
The eastern portion of Rizal (Rodriguez, San Mateo, City of Antipolo, Tanay, Baras)
The northern portion of Quezon (General Nakar, Infanta, Real, Mauban, Perez, Alabat, Quezon, Calauag) including Polillo Islands
The northern portion of Laguna (Santa Maria, Famy, Siniloan, Pangil, Pakil, Paete)
Camarines Norte
Eastern portion of Rizal
Northern portion of Quezon
Polillo Islands
Northern portion of Laguna
Camarines Norte

Subscribe to The Beat's newsletter to receive compelling, curated content straight to your inbox! You can also create an account with us for free to start bookmarking articles for later reading.